Stand Up Paddle Board Yoga and Beyond

stand up paddle board yoga sunset

Hey Friends,

I have discovered the realm of SUP Yoga, or Stand Up Paddle Board Yoga.  Try it— it will rock your world!  Last Thursday evening, I had the opportunity to check out this art, with the possibility of teaching it later this summer.

I wandered through Chelsea to Pier 84 at 44th and 12th Ave., where I heard live music playing by the river (one of New York’s free summer concerts).  The sunset was nearing.  I signed up, pushed my paddle board into the water, and slowly climbed onto it.  My instructor guided me through the basics of getting around town on this vehicle, and then led me through a beautiful yoga practice.  By the time I entered savasana, the sky was a marvelous blend of orange and pink.

After the lesson, I was elated to find out that I will have the chance to teach SUP Yoga on the weekends later this summer!  In the meantime, I’m getting myself comfortable on the paddle board.  So stay tuned!  I can’t wait to guide you through a sunset practice on the Hudson River with MKC (Manhattan Kayak Company).  🙂

In addition to paddle boarding this week, I will be teaching the following classes at Area Yoga:

Monday, July 28:
6:20 p.m. Open Level (Court)
7:45 p.m. Basics (Court)

Tuesday, July 29:
12:30 p.m. Power (Court)
4:00 p.m. Open Level (Court)

Saturday, Aug. 2:
3:20 p.m. Power (Montague)

Sunday, Aug. 3:
9:45 a.m. Open Level (Montague)
12:30 p.m. Restorative (Court)

I wish you all magical dreams and a bright start to your week.  I hope to see you in class.  😀

 

Leave a Reply

